City Council

City Council

Mission: Establishing policies to lead The Dalles into the future.

COUNCIL MEETINGS are held on the second and fourth Monday of each month, at 5:30 p.m. with the exception of August and Holidays.

The City Council is the governing body of the City of The Dalles.  Its five voting members and the Mayor set the direction for the City, establishing policies and laws.  Specific voter approved powers for the Council is contained in the City Charter, while Council's own administrative and operational policies are adopted by the ordinance or resolution.

City Council is charged with the appointment of the City Manager, City Attorney and Municipal Judge.  They adopt the annual budget and perform all other actions necessary to guide the government, while representing concerns of the citizens of The Dalles.

The Dalles City Council positions are volunteer and are elected by the entire electorate of the City.  The Mayor and Councilor at Large are elected for two-year terms and the remaining four positions are nominated from districts, serving staggered four-year terms.

In addition to regular meetings, the City Council meets on a quarterly basis to establish, review, and update goals for the City.

So You Want To Run for A City Elected Office

The following information will be helpful in making that decision:

1.City of The Dalles Charter

2.City of The Dalles City Council Rules/Code of Conduct

3.City Goals/Performance Benchmarking

4.Oregon Government Ethics Law

5.Public Meeting and Election Law Summary

6.Parliamentary Procedures

7.City of The Dalles Organizational Flow Chart

8. City of The Dalles Department Managers

For more information contact City Clerk

City Council Agendas

City Council Goals 2017
City Council Goals 2016

Elected Officials Directory

Position Name Email Phone Term
Mayor Stephen Lawrence 503-807-0724 2 year term, expires 12/31/18
Councilor At Large Taner Elliott 541-993-8896 2 year term, expires 12/31/18
Councilor, Position #1 Timothy McGlothlin 541-980-4051 4 year term, expires 12/31/18
Councilor, Position #2 Darcy Long-Curtiss  541-980-7184 4 year term, expires 12/31/20
Councilor, Position #3 Russ Brown 541-980-1845 4 year term, expires 12/31/18
Councilor, Position #4  Linda Miller 541-980-2714 4 year term, expires 12/31/20



Mayor, Steve Lawrence 
Steve Lawrence received a BA, Literature, Portland State (1972); and his Doctor of Jurisprudence, from Lewis & Clark, Northwestern School of Law. He was a member of the Oregon State Bar from 1978 to 2012; was a Trial Attorney and has been Mayor of The Dalles since 2012. Mayor Lawrence also serves as the City liaison on the Community Outreach Team and on the Mid-Columbia Council of Governments Board.
Councilor Taner Elliot 
Taner Elliott was born and raised in The Dalles. Taner is first and foremost a family man working to raise two young girls with his wife Tanna. Mr. Elliott started volunteering his time on the soccer field as a coach and referee at age 12. Leadership started early. He is currently our youngest member of the council. After high school Taner went on to college at Mt. Hood Community College, the whole time improving his skills to enter the electrical trade. He returned to The Dalles to start his electrical apprenticeship. Today Taner is the General Manager of Hire Electric in The Dalles. Taner is still active in coaching sports, and has coached baseball, softball and soccer. Taner took his first political role around 2001 where he was on the Board of Directors for Chenowith Water PUD. Taner has and currently serves on many boards in the community including Wasco County Planning Commission, Qlife, and Urban Renewal. His passion is his family, golf and the outdoors. Mr. Elliott's goal is provide solid infrastructure, fiscal accountability and to keep the services the city provides to its residents affordable and of high quality. His hope to assist with funding for a much needed new high school. Please contact him with any and all questions and constructive concerns.
City Councilor Tim McGlothlin 
Timothy J. McGlothlin is a long time (42 years) resident of The Dalles, moving to The Dalles shortly after graduating from university to teach at The Dalles Junior High School. After a long career in education as a teacher, administrator and professor, he now spends time traveling, playing music and enjoying the grandchildren. Councilor McGlothlin is in his second term as an elected official and is very involved in his community. He serves as Council liaison to the Columbia Gorge Regional Airport Board, and the Historic Landmarks Commission.
City Councilor Linda Miller 
Linda Miller was born in Portland and moved to The Dalles in 1958. Linda’s education includes The Dalles High, Wahtonka High School, University of Oregon and Lansing Community College. She has lived in several communities around the Country and moved back to The Dalles in 1991. She co-owned Homers Sporting Goods and Homers Sport Fishing Guide Service with her husband Jim Miller. Linda has worked for Waste Connections at Wasco County Landfill since 1994. Linda volunteers much of her free time including serving on the Board at Old St. Peter’s Landmark and Mid-Columbia Medical Center gift shop. In addition to her role as City Councilor and Urban Renewal Agency Board Member, Linda serves on Sister City Committee.
City Councilor Darcy Long-Curtiss
Darcy Long-Curtiss was raised in The Dalles and graduated from TDHS prior to attending Willamette University to study political science and international studies.  She has been married to her high school sweetheart, Daniel Curtiss, for 24 years and has two sons, ages 19 and 16.  Darcy is an independent financial advisor and owns Empower Financial, serving clients in Oregon, Washington and California.  She has been a long-time advocate for children and adults with mental health issues and respite care for families with special needs children.  She is the City Council liaison to the QLife Board, and the Urban Renewal Agency Board.
City Councilor Russ Brown 
Russ Brown is a life-long resident of The Dalles. He is retired from Bonneville Power Administration. Russ has served on the Open Burn Committee and the Sign Committee. He was elected to City Council and has served as Councilor Position #3 since January, 2015. He is the City Council liaison to the City’s Traffic Safety Commission. 
Go to top